Admission Rates
Members: Free
Adults: $12.00
Seniors (65+): $11.00
Family: $35.00 (one or both parents plus any number of their dependent children including college students. NOT grandparents unless they are legal guardians.)
Youth (11-18): $10.00
10 and Under: Free

Part of the excitement of the museum is its setting — a beautiful Italianate home built as a private residence by Galena merchant Daniel Barrows. Much of the home’s original detail still exists. So step back in time and explore Galena’s past in the ambience of 19th century surroundings.

The Galena-Jo Daviess County Historical Society & Museum receives no on-going tax-support.

Purchase Tickets

Gift Shop

Be sure to shop our Gift Shop at the Galena & U.S. Grant Museum on Bench Street. We have a wide selection of history books covering the history of the development of this northwestern region of Illinois; Ulysses S. Grant – The General and The President; The Civil War; Native American history and culture, architecture of the region and so much more.


We can offer a variety of tours depending on the size and age of your group. The Old Blacksmith Shop is also part of the Museum complex and is an exciting, authentic and fully operational Blacksmith operation that still produces forged iron products. Young and old enjoy the dynamic atmosphere of the Old Blacksmith Shop – be sure and get the details.

Step-On Guides for Bus Groups

We provide an experienced and accurate guide who will board your motorcoach and provide you with a 60-minute narration of Galena’s historic district. If you wish, we can also do a tour through the countryside, identifying old mine sites, the Mississippi River and the unglaciated character of our beautiful terrain.

Museum Tours

We offer tours for all types of groups from schools to retirees. Please call us at (815)777-9129 or e-mail us at: for rates and other information.

Walking Tour with General Grant

Join General Ulysses S. Grant (portrayed by Bob Buman) for a one-hour walk down Galena’s historic Main Street. Grant will serve as your guide to the rich history of Galena. Hear stories of steamboat captains, miners, merchants, and Civil War heroes – all of whom helped build Galena into the boom town of the Old Northwest. Tours are conducted every Saturday, May through October and begin at 10 a.m. and noon in the lobby of the DeSoto House Hotel at 230 S. Main Street. Cost is $15 per person; children under 10 are free. No reservations are necessary. Tickets can be purchased in advance at Gateway to History or at the DeSoto House. In case of rain, the tour will be conducted inside the historic DeStoto House. Group tours and other times available by pre-arrangement only.